The 2019 Printz Award Winner

The Michael L. Printz Award is given annually to the best-written books for teens. 

The 2019 winner is


The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Acevedo transforms everyday language into transcendent imagery in this novel-in-verse about Xiomara, who struggles to come into her own power amid her restrictive upbringing. Over the course of these lyrical, expressive, and honest poems, she grows from speaking with her fists to embracing her identity as Poet X.

Elizabeth Acevedo is a poetry slam champion and her reading of the audiobook version of the novel is tremendous.

This year three more excellent novels were named as Printz Award Honor Books. 

Damsel by Elana K. Arnold

Ama has no memory of what comes before she wakes in Prince Emory's arms, but she's no ordinary damsel in distress. Using the language of classic fairy tales to shatter familiar tropes, Arnold asks readers to confront the ways systemic violence against women pervades cultural touchstones.

A Heart in a Body in the World by Deb Caletti

Struggling with PTSD in the wake of a terrifying tragedy, Annabelle decides to run across the country in a physically demanding journey that mirrors the circuitous path of her emotional recovery. Caletti insightfully explores trauma, loss, and guilt while illuminating the damaging expectations our culture places on teenage girls.

I, Claudia by Mary McCoy

In this political thriller set in a privileged high school, underestimated and unreliable narrator Claudia chronicles her rise to power. Sharp, biting humor pervades McCoy's novel about vicious high school students embroiled in an explosive struggle for control.
You can check out this list of all the Printz Award winners.

Printz Award Winners for Teens @ SCCLD

For even more acclaimed books of the year, check out the 2018 Alex Awards which recognize the best written adult books of teen interest.

Alex Award Winners for Teens @ SCCLD

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
 Security code