The 2014 Printz Award Winner

Posted on Saturday, February 1, 2014 by fillups

The Michael L Printz Award is given annually to the best written book for teens.  

The 2014 winner is


Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

Doomed love circles back through the centuries in a series of seven intricately plotted, interlocking stories set on a mysterious, isolated island. Forgetting and remembering, blessed and cursed, modern and ancient, these dualities brilliantly infuse the novel’s lush landscape.
You can also check out the wonderful books that were runners up or Printz Award honor books.
Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Unlikely love blossoms on the bus when two unique, exceptional souls find strength in each other’s differences in Rowell’s emotionally charged and hopeful novel.

The Kingdom of Little Wounds

The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal

Impeccably researched and darkly disturbing, this complex literary tale reveals the sordid side of palace life in a 16th century Scandinavian kingdom where the royal family, the Lunedies, is cursed by a mysterious illness, and political machinations cast doubt on who will rule.

Maggot Moon

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

In Sally Gardner’s explosively original dystopian novel, Standish Treadwell and his grandfather show quiet defiance in the face of the oppressive, merciless Motherland. The cleverly parallel illustrations highlight a story as offbeat and perceptive as Standish and his mismatched eyes.

Navigating Early