Who is eligible to receive a free, full access Santa Clara County Library card?

Cards are free to anyone who owns property or lives in the unincorporated area of Santa Clara County or in one of the following nine cities: Campbell, Cupertino, Gilroy, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Milpitas, Monte Sereno, Morgan Hill or Saratoga. 

Your postal mailing address is not a reliable indicator of your eligibility for a free, full access card. Residence in the Library District will be determined by the Tax Rate Area listing for your property on the Santa Clara County Assessor's Office website. The Tax Rate Area listing must include "Area No. 01 (Library Services)” under County Service, which indicates that the property is part of the Santa Clara County Library District.

Volunteers who live outside of the Library District and who work 60 or more hours for the library in the previous year are eligible for free, full access cards.